Tail Rot or Just Growing?

Status
Not open for further replies.
96772-364497654.jpg
Hello, my name is Maddie and I just joined this site! I got a baby bearded dragon for my birthday this past December (the 6th) of 2017. His name is Delta. Ever since I got him, I’ve noticed the end of his tail. It seems to be getting darker over the course of a month. I’ve read many articles that say it could’ve gotten caught in the lid of his container when we brought him home (even though I didn’t see it).

I’m very worried! It’s probably just me since I’ve never owned a reptile before, but i researched a lot before my parents agreed to get one for me. I’d be glad to list the type of bulbs we use and all that, but for the sake of this long paragraph I’ll keep it short! ? I’ll attach some pictures. Also, he seems extremely healthy according to articles. He has bright eyes, happy colors most of the time, and he eats a lot of greens and veggies.

Like i said, I just joined and I’m still learning! ? I’m not sure if the picture posted, but if it didn’t, I’ll try my best to get it to work.

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
Hi there, it sounds like Delta is doing very well. :) They do get dark tail ends, sometimes natural color, sometimes going in to shed. Generally a tail that's damaged from a bite or from a lid closing on it will have an indentation.

Madburchell

Original Poster
Thank you so much! Yes, he has been shedding this week. However, just to make sure, I'm gonna post another pic just in case! :) Well- if I could ? How can I add an image to this reply? It just gives me the last photo I posted and idk how to change it!

Thanks!!

EllenD

Gray-bearded Member
Hello, welcome to the forum!!!

As AHBD already mentioned, most all dragons do have a darker colored end to their tails, and if he ever black-beards then their tails also usually turn black at the same time that this happens (just an FYI).