some of Sunny's eggs have gone moldy :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.

carmallarm

Hatchling Member
I just checked Sunny's eggs in the incubator, and 12 of the original 16 have succumbed to mold. :cry: I'm trying not to get too disappointed, since I am a beginner, and the eggs weren't planned, and I should have prepared myself for not all of the eggs making it to term... etc., etc. But it's still kinda sad to have such a large chunk of the clutch go so quickly.

I put the moldy ones in the freezer, and am going to transfer the remaining 4 to a container with clean Pearlite. I took almost all of the water out of the Hovabator. I had only filled the A-section, which is the smallest one, with water, but I guess it was still too humid in there for the eggs. I was trying to only open the incubator once a week so I wouldn't disturb the eggs, but I guess I'm going to have to start checking them more often so I can catch the mold before it spreads to the other eggs.

I hope I at least get one or two babies from this clutch... I was so looking forward to little baby Beardies :( Oh, well. At least both Sunny and Draco are healthy. The eggs are a fantastic project, but my adult BDs are still my priority. As long as they're doing well, I'll try not to get too depressed about the eggs.

ilovebeardeddragons

Gray-bearded Member
sorry to hear that but its kinda good that was you dont have like 20 babys to take care of you know? then next time you can get a lil better(not trying to be mean by saying that) what was the humitity? and im not sure but maybe when the eggs die they get moldy and sence you were opening them so much the died just curius why do you open them once a week? and im not trying to be mean by any of this im just trying ot help incase you decide to plan a clutch so it doesnt happen again

carmallarm

Hatchling Member
Original Poster
ilovebeardeddragons":71e20 said:
what was the humitity?