New and worried about my beardie

Status
Not open for further replies.

cbspot

Hi all
I just bought my beardie on sunday and i think its about 1 month old.Its about 6in long.I'm worried because the last time it ate was tuesday morning.I'ts very aware what's going on around it,but it wont eat.I'm still new in the whole thing and i am afraid i did something wrong to cause it not to eat.I think maybe it's relocation stress or something.My setup is as follows

1,2m long encloser
Reptiglow 10 uv tube
a red basking light 100w
temp on cool side is 25 degrees celsius
temp on warm side is 35 degrees celcius
temp is measured with digital termometers

looking forward for advice
thanx

luvthydragon

Juvie Member
Hello there-
Welcome to this site :D . You can find a lot of great info here. I'm new also and have a baby beardie too. I'm not that experienced yet but I'll offer you what I can ... I'm not sure why he's not eating - It may be from relocation stress.

What are you feeding ? Is he/shes drinking ? (size and age appropriate?). Regular baths help to keep them hydrated too. Are you bathing him/her?

I don't mean to pound you with questions but it may help for better advice ....(more experienced members chime in at anytime :D :D )

One thing you may want to consider is getting a new UVB light. Several posts have warned that the particular bulb you have may be bad for their eyes. If you use the search feature for this site and type in Reptiglo you can read more on the details and decide for yourself. I had that bulb too and turned it off and promtly ordered the ReptiSUN 10.0 (maybe another member can post a link on this topic - I'm not sure how to do that) Otherwise, some more experienced members may reply to you with more specific questions to help you further than I can. Sorry I don't have many specifics for you. Take care and good luck.

cbspot

Original Poster
Hi