My Beardie is 13 yrs old and laying eggs??!!

brandom

This is my first time using a forum, so apologies if this isn't the right place. I have yet to find any answer similar to this online. My bearded dragon is around 12/13 years old. We got her in 2013 when she was already an adult. She has laid eggs for years now, all infertile obviously, but for the past 4 months she has been laying about 5 eggs every couple of weeks. Is it normal for a 12-year-old, probably even older beardie, to be laying eggs? I keep reading that they were supposed to stop at around 4, but she has been laying them every so often for years. She just laid another pile of eggs. This whole period of time she's been eating, moving, and acting completely fine so I don't think anything is bothering her, I just find it odd since she is so old.

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
Wow, the oldest dragon I've heard of laying eggs was 9-10 year old. 😲 I guess she's fine as you described her so just do whatever you've been doing. At her age she's been thriving so just carry on as usual.

label

Hatchling Member
My 10 year-old southern angle-headed dragon still laid eggs last year. None of them hatched, but I was surprised she'd still be laying.

brandom

Original Poster