Looking for tips/advice/ suggestions for a two story vivarium

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess92

Hi all!

I'm new to bearded dragon life. I've had a bearded dragon since December. He's about 8 months old and has a lovely temperament. He's very confident and friendly and likes to come out of his vivarium to roam around. I've noticed he likes climbing and seems to enjoy having lots of space. He's currently in a 4ft x 2ft x2ft vivarium which seems a pretty normal size but I can't help feel like he'd like a bit more space. He does seem happy in there and he has a basking spot and a cool shaded area/ hiding spot but I just think he would like more room. I've been looking at vivariums that are 6ft x 2ft x 2ft and then I thought - could I put his current 4x2x2 on the top of a new 6x2x2 and then make a hole between the two so that he has a two story house? I'm pretty confident in terms of DIY/woodwork but I'm not confident in my knowledge of bearded dragons and I wouldn't want to do anything that would make him unwell or mess with his vivarium temperature and make him unhappy.

So, my plan is:

Make a hole in the top of a 6x2x2ft vivarium that is centre left and about 6 inches x 4 inches and then make an identical hole in the bottom of a 4x2x2ft vivarium and then stack one on top of the other so that the holes match up perfectly. I was going to sand the holes and put some sort of sealant around the holes to make sure they're super smooth. Then make a ladder so that he can climb upstairs. I plan to have a light and a basking light in each vivarium. I also thought about creating some sort of lip around the hole so that the substrate doesn't fall from the top floor into the bottom floor. I cant see any reason why this wouldn't work but I thought I would put it out there incase anyone can think of any issues that I've overlooked.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

I've attached pictures of Jeremy (bearded dragon).

Jess :)

Attachments