Lethargic after exposure to Unknown Bark

Status
Not open for further replies.
My beardie has been lethargic and rarely opening her eyes. I have taken her to a vet and she is starting to show minor improvement. But I had added a piece of unknown bark to her vivarium that I fear may have been cedar or pine. I have thrown it out. Do any of you know what kind of wood this is and what should should I do if it was cedar.

gNpUIVY.jpg

Drache613

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hello,

I am by no means an expert on wood, but it does look a bit like cedar. The reddish color at the
base of the wood appears to be what cedar looks like.
Did the vet give any activated charcoal for her, or if not, what did he give her?
I would disinfect the tank just to be sure you have gotten any possible resin out of the tank that
could be causing more toxins to be in the air.
Let us know how she is doing.

Tracie

StormCrow13

Original Poster
The vet didn’t give her activated charcoal but I am going back tomorrow for a follow up appointment and can ask then. The vet gave her fluids, vitamin injections, and some antibiotics.

She doesn’t move much unless I put her under the heat lamp and she will move around to get comfortable then move when she gets too hot. Last couple times she moved away from the heat lamp she managed to land upside down and she didn’t even try to flip herself onto her belly. Otherwise she only moves her arms to grab on to my hand if I pick her up. I have been giving her some vegetables slurry and she moves around some when I give her food. She doesn’t open her eyes more than a crack unless very often.

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
It's good that you figured out the probable cause and you got some slurry in her. It's possible that she may have eaten a sliver that was sticking out, so watch for signs of impaction. I'm not sure why the vet gave her vitamins and antibiotics rather than a bit of charcoal though. Are they a reptile vet ?

StormCrow13

Original Poster