fluctuating incubator temps

Status
Not open for further replies.

lemmons

i'm a newbie to the site so hello all and thanks in advance for your advice! my beardie laid 18 eggs on 7th dec, i've put them in a hovabator incubator, in sandwich tubs of vermiculite with some sterile water. i drilled some holes in the lids to allow a bit of air circulation and weighed them this sunday (ie after one week) and added some more sterile water to make up for what had been lost. the only thing is the temp in the hovabator seems to fluctuate a bit, it mostly seems to be between 82.5 f - 85.5 f but has crept over and under the magic 82-86 is this a problem? does anyone else have problems with this? none of the eggs appear to have died - well none have gone mouldy or collapsed. i'm wondering if its because its winter in the uk and house temp is a bit cold during the day when i'm at work. also how much should i expect the eggs to grow? hoping they hatch out soon, the watching and waiting is killing me! :?

gregcranston

Hatchling Member