Femoral Pores

Status
Not open for further replies.

kaitlynp

Hello! I recently rescued this 13 year old bearded dragon. I have no experience but I just couldn’t leave him. He looks weak and malnourished to me, so I’m starting him out slow with a little fresh veggie and some raw honey. He’s also got a heat lamp and basking lamp, I still need to buy a UV. My main concern is his femoral pores though. They are long and hard, but don’t look too irritated in my opinion. I let him soak for 20 min today and kept the water warm, yet they don’t seem to be softening. Any advice or opinions?

Attachments

• 72D81035-A9FE-478C-AA44-C3A9E1A1AA93.jpeg
    72D81035-A9FE-478C-AA44-C3A9E1A1AA93.jpeg
    231.7 KB · Views: 240
  • D43EBEF1-BBF0-4616-964A-D69C597D5C63.jpeg
    D43EBEF1-BBF0-4616-964A-D69C597D5C63.jpeg
    172.1 KB · Views: 105

Longfellow777

Sub-Adult Member
Beardie name(s)
Frey'ja
I have no advice on the pores but someone will. Your a saint! That’s great of you. God bless you. Are you taking the dragon outside for some natural uv? That will help with d3 process until you get uvb lamp. Do you know what kinds to look for most on the market are not high enough output to create a uv index strong enough for dragons?

kaitlynp

Original Poster
Thank you! I have no clue what size this terrarium is. It’s fairly large, about double his size. I haven’t taken him outside. He is near a window with black out curtains that I’ve been nervous to open because I hear that it can be bad for them to be by a window. I may take him out later though as he seems to be very calm and stays on my shirt once placed there. Most of the stuff I have is what the previous owner had, based on the size of the hide it’s from when they first got him 13 years ago 🙃

Longfellow777

Sub-Adult Member
Beardie name(s)
Frey'ja