Enclosure questions for a beardie as a classroom pet

Status
Not open for further replies.

cherallison

Hello everyone! My name is Cher and I'm a Montessori teacher. I work with primary students, age 6 and under, but mostly with kindergarten. We are encouraged to care for a variety of animals in our rooms, preferably at least one animal from all vertebrate classes (mammals, birds, reptiles, fish, and amphibians). Admittedly, I really struggle with this because we give a lot of attention to my pets at home, and I don't like the idea of caged animals hanging out alone for long periods of time. This rules out mammals and birds for me, and I already have an aquarium. After considering it for a long time, I decided on a bearded dragon. One of my friends has a beardie in her classroom and it seems to be really working out well. He seems happy, healthy, and the children really love him. Plus, it bothers me a little less knowing that they tend to be more solitary in the wild. I've done my research and I've planned my enclosure, but I'm still a little confused. Here is what I've got going on so far:

I picked up a second hand 40 gallon breeder tank with a screen. I plan to move my beardie into something larger eventually (i.e. something between 75-125 gallons), but I am waiting for a good deal on Craigslist.)

I plan to buy the following at Pet Mountain in the next couple of days:

24 inch Reptisun 10.0 UVB bulb ( I plan to get a fixture at Walmart)
100 watt CHE
Reptile cage carpet for 40 gallon breeder tank
2 extra deep dome fixtures for the CHE and the basking light
A basking light (I figured I'd get this locally; I understand a halogen or flood light is okay. Any recommendations on wattage for a 40 gallon?)
A gun-type thermometer
Herptivite with beta carotene