corn snake feeding questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

HKzForDayz

Sub-Adult Member
My baby corn has been eating 4 pinkies a week, 2 in each feeding with 2 feedings a week. I want to start feeding fuzzies, but she seems too small to eat fuzzys, But Im also new to snakes and Its crazy how much they can fit in themselves. Any suggestions? also , If I do switch to fuzzies, would it be okay to feed twice or week? or should I go to 1?

Rukii

Juvie Member
Well what I did was feed my juvie corn snake one pinky twice a week. They really don't need more than that. When sizing a mouse for them to eat, make sure it's no bigger than 1 1/2 times the size of their head. My local feeder place always says 'You'd be surprised how much they can fit. Owners usually underestimate their snakes". But then again that doesn't mean you should overdo it of course. Just pick something a tiny bit bigger than the biggest part of their body. If the food makes no lump in their stomach, it was too small. Make sure their food leave a small but noticeable lump. Also, you could still feed your snake twice a week with fuzzies. When they become adults, people usually switch to one feeding per week. The size and amount you feed a snake depends on their size and girth and all. Corns are generally pretty small, so 2 fuzzies a week should fill them up adequately until adulthood. Once they become adults, you could probably feed them 2 mice, but it's not necessary.

Rukii

Juvie Member
Don't worry, he'll grow. Don't overfeed him just for the purpose of getting him to grow fast though. They would be ok with one feeding per week, but feeding them twice a week ensures proper and fast growth. So just twice a week will be fine, and will let him grow at proper rates.

Floof

Juvie Member
Sorry, but it appears there's some misinformation here.