Advice on a gravid beardie...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I apologize if this is too long for any/most/all...

First of all, I've been a longtime lurker of these boards, but this is my first time posting. Because of my time frequenting the boards and using them for information before adopting/rescuing our beloved beardie back in March, I was complimented highly by the emergency vet when we took her in yesterday for being as knowledgeable as I was. So, that is a thanks to all of you fellow beardie owners who are so helpful to longtime owners and newbies alike (such as myself), and being willing to share your knowledge and care for the species. Thank you.

Our interest in beardies came from my son’s kindergartners class pet being a beardie and taking him home a few times for the weekend. We fell in love. We started researching ownership for six months before the opportunity even arose to adopt/rescue our own. I am glad that we ended up with an adult AND that we are rescuing one who needed a good home.

A little background, we adopted Lizzy in March from friends who inherited Lizzy by their grown son who no longer had time for her. I do not want to place all the blame on these people as they did their best with what they could and a pet they never wanted in the first place but took her for their grandson who did not want to see it given away. Unfortunately, after several years, they finally decided that they just couldn't give her the time, attention, or care that she truly deserved and the grandson (now 12) had finally conceded that she deserved a better home as well.