Thermometer brand help please?

Discuss substrates, lighting, heating, enclosure building ideas, share enclosure photos, and talk about any other enclosure-related topics.

Thermometer brand help please?

Postby Jaspersmama » Sun Oct 21, 2018 11:38 am

I had a reptile one digital thermometer dual probe setup ( looks the same as zoo med yellow ones but as two probes) in my other viv , but my new viv is too long for the probe to stretch all the way over to the basking spot as it’ll need to be 120cm/47” at least long
So I need a new one and will have to order overseas as we don’t have other options in nz
It would have to be battery operated not plug in ( different plug in nz )

Are there any that can sit fully inside the viv? I’ve seen some on here have them in the viv with a lcd display standing in the viv - what brand are those?
Thanks in advance :)
Jaspersmama
Hatchling Poster
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:17 am
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Re: Thermometer brand help please?

Postby CooperDragon » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:07 pm

I'd just look for a digital aquarium thermometer with a probe that has a length that you need. The brand isn't so important. You could get a basic infrared temp gun to double check surface temps as well if you'd like.
Image
User avatar
CooperDragon
BD.org Sicko
 
Posts: 22263
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:41 am
Location: Iowa City, IA

Re: Thermometer brand help please?

Postby Jaspersmama » Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:13 pm

I have a thermo gun :) just like seeing the temp easy on the display screen when I’m in the room
Struggling to find one longer than a meter though
Jaspersmama
Hatchling Poster
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:17 am

Re: Thermometer brand help please?

Postby kingofnobbys » Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:02 am

Jaspersmama wrote:I have a thermo gun :) just like seeing the temp easy on the display screen when I’m in the room
Struggling to find one longer than a meter though


1m is plenty long enough , all you need is one which can have it's probe where you need it and the display somewhere handy (outside the tank), only people I know who need cables to the probes longer than 1m are people who have large pet goannas / monitors and frill necked dragons and eastern water dragons in outside aviary style pits/enclosures.... (up to 4m L x 3m W x 2m T).

I typically have 3 per tank/tub and can see my temperatures at a glance anytime I want.
CBDs: Puff (M)(RIP 10Dec2015 @ 3.2 yrs old (aneurism)),Rex (F)(RIP 16Mar2017 @ 4.6 yrs old,Toothless (M)(sudden unexplained death RIP 26Nov2017) @ 2.1 yrs old.Peppa (F) (born 15Nov2015).
EBTSs : George & Mildred (born july 2010).
EWSs : Lucky (M)(wild juvenile), cat attack rescue, fatal SI RIP 21Jul2010.Wriggles (F)(rescued injured),thought she was a big lizard, 7-8 yrs old, died in her sleep, RIP 2Feb2016). Fluffy (F) rescued 14Nov2017 about 4 yrs old . .
kingofnobbys
BD.org Addict
 
Posts: 9192
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 10:56 pm

Re: Thermometer brand help please?

Postby Jaspersmama » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:22 am

No I have one opening for it
In old viv I had it stuck just next to the opening ( which is on cold end) and it had dual probes, one just went inside in cold end but the other stretched right across viv to basking spot at other end. It now won’t fit in new viv as hot end is 120cm away not 90cm
Hence why I’m wanting to get one with the bigger display screen so I can have all of it inside
Jaspersmama
Hatchling Poster
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:17 am

Re: Thermometer brand help please?

Postby CooperDragon » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:23 pm

I like being able to just glance at the display to see the basking and cool surface temps like you're describing. I have a Herpstat 2 controller that has long probe wires but that is probably more expensive than you need (and I'm not sure if they're available in NZ).
Image
User avatar
CooperDragon
BD.org Sicko
 
Posts: 22263
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:41 am
Location: Iowa City, IA
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Return to Enclosures

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users