Nature Zone Cricket Breeding Kit

Status
Not open for further replies.

DKchewie

I have been looking for ways to save money when buying crickets for my bearded dragon Chewie. I have tried breeding some of my crickets before, but didn't succeed. I have been looking into this cricket breeding kit, but not sure if it will really work. Please, if you have any suggestions tell me, I am a middle school student, relying on B-Day and Christmas money to get her crickets.

-DK

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
I haven't tried the kit so I can't really say if it's effective or not or if it's cost effective. You may want to read more about breeding them and see if you can rig something up on your own for less money or not. http://www.anapsid.org/crickets.html

I found it MUCH cheaper to order them in bulk online every month or so and keep them in a bin (20g tank w/mesh top in my case) and feed them vegetable scraps and house them in cardboard tubes from paper towels and toilet paper. This cost about $30 per month for 1,000 crickets vs a lot more at the local pet store.