1 bearded dragon; feeder colony?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dankomite

Hey, I have just got a bearded dragon about a month ago. He/she is about 2 months old if I were to guess. This is my first beardie so I'm new to this. Im beginning to think it may be a good idea to start a colony of dubia roaches. I have never feed him a roach yet. Just mostly crickets, he doest seem to like his salad. But these crickets stink, die often, and just suck to buy often from a pet store. Is this a good idea? And does any have basic information on how to?

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
I think there are problems with your cricket care , can you tell us how you look after them , and what you keep them in, and what you feed them ?

You will need to have a few colonies so you will aways have roaches the right size to use.Probably more bother than it's worth for JUST ONE lizard.

Similarly you don't have the scale to gain much by buying large numbers of bugs by mailorder (in bulk) since you only have one beardie to feed.

You could try phoenix worms as an alternative staple feeder.

re crickets
I take it you are buying your bugs in small qualities from a pet shop, I'd ask them what day they take delivery of their bulk bug supply (each week) and schedule your purchases so you are there within a few hours of the delivery and perhaps even call them that day and ask they set aside a bunch of freshly delivered bugs (in tubs) for you and keep them behind the counter for when you arrive ( it's likely they'll be happy to do this for a good regular customer - so get to know the shop staff).
Lot of pet shops will keep even disgusting tubs of bugs on the shelves in the hope a buyer will take them without checking them before buying and lots will not even feed the bugs.

Then when you arrive visually inspect the tubs (if you see dead bugs in a tub - don't buy it).