Florida Feeder Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

matothett

OK so i am new to bearded dragons and soaking up a ton of info. This is a gift for my son and i am trying to teach him how to take care of his pet.

I want to start a feeder just not sure what direction to go in. We are looking for cost effective (he is paying for it) as well as not too messy. (my wife hates this stuff).

What do you guys suggest for a first timer?
also
Is there anywhere in Orlando to buy bulk crickets or phoenix worms? I want dubias but i hear that is not an option.

thanks

MsCarter

Juvie Member
Unfortunately dubias are a no to FL residents, discoids are a great alternative but a little pricey. Crickets suck I'm just going to say it lol. They get loose in the house, they stink and they chirp. A really good option imo is BSFL (black solider fly larvae) aka Phoenix worms, calci worms and repti worms. They are super easy to keep, you literally just keep them in the container they come in. You don't have to do anything special for them like feed/water. And you can order in bulk from venders on eBay or Amazon both have some really good prices. These worms are also loaded with calcium which is super beneficial to your Beardie. If you want to mix in crickets too you can also order them from venders on eBay and Amazon at cheap prices as well. They usually come in the mail in 2-3 days from most places.
Hope that helps

Varalidaine

Juvie Member
I order all of my feeder insects from rainbowmealworms.net