Hornworms

Status
Not open for further replies.

discojan

Juvie Member
I read somewhere that hornworms can sometimes be poisonous to beardies. Is that true, or are they a safe feeder? I have little one on hunger strike post-parasite meds. She's refusing crickets, but eating greens and berries (she's spoiled I know). I want her to start chasing wiggly things again, and thought the color of hornworms might entice her.

I just want to make sure they're safe before I mail-order. Thoughts?

Tomek

Juvie Member
Original Poster
Hello, I have been feeding hornworms to my beardie for a few months now. HE LOVES THEM !!, I get them from a local petstore, but was looking for somewhere online to purchase them from. They are very expensive and I only give a few to mine each week. I was told that eating just one was equivalent to eating 12 crickets. They are very filling for him, but he cannot get enough of them. I have not heard they are poisonous to beardies? anyone out there here this?

Vacren

Juvie Member
They're safe. I don't know why anyone would say hornworms were toxic, I suppose if you were to feed them nothing but avocado it could be harmful to your dragon, but I can't think of any other way to make them toxic.

Honda99300ex

Juvie Member
The reason you heard they were toxic is probably due to the hornworms(tomato worms) eating the tomato plant in the wild, which is toxic to beardeds since the tomato is in the nightshade family of plants. So, hornworms raised on artificial diet in captivity are perfectly healthy!! I've never seen a dragon, or any herp so far, refuse one! cheapest and easiest is to breed them, not very hard at all!! www.manducaproject.com

discojan

Juvie Member