Newbie DIY Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

justkniel

I'm a newbie to the forum and don't currently have bearded dragons, but I am planning on getting one (probably about a year out from now). In preparation, I've been trying to figure out what all I will need to get. I was looking at getting the Exo terra 36x18x18 because I really like the front opening doors, but it seems like this will be too small for an adult dragon. So now I am considering building my own enclosure. I'm not very handy at all but from the videos I've seen it seems to mostly be screwing boards together which I think I can manage :D .

I'm thinking of doing a typical plywood 4x2x2. I was looking at doing sliding glass doors with the plastic track, which seemed simple enough. One thing I was wondering, does anyone have any thoughts for a way to lock these doors? I have small children and don't really want them to be able to get into the enclosure on their own. I did see a video where someone used a glass shelf from Ikea as a hinged door, so if I can't figure anything out with locking the sliding glass doors, I may go that route. Any other options for the front doors (keeping in mind it would have to be simple).

Also, I was thinking of hinging the top of the enclosure so I could lift it up to change light bulbs and things. I hadn't really seen mention of this here, so I was wondering if there is a reason for not doing this? It seems like it would be simple enough as I would just put hinges connecting the back and top and maybe have a clasp on the front to lock it down since it won't be screwed into the sides or front at all.