Woke Up Bearded dragon Upside down dead.. :'(

Status
Not open for further replies.
I woke up to see my juvinile bearded dragon that i bought from petsmart november 4th upside down dead. I have no reason why and im really sad about it. first reptile pet i've had before and I studied a lot about him.. brumation period, I could tell he was barely eating.. had crickets in there CONSTANTLY and he would not eat them. veggies also, misted him once a day. noticed he started sleeping more often. which i read about not thinking it was a big deal.. last week he was hiding in the shade and sleeping a lot, not very active.. wondering if it was an Atadenovirus. or does anyone have a Clue.. Be honest was this My fault? I gave him the lighting. bathed once a week, and cleaned his cage every month to 2 weeks. I'm really sad about this and Im wondering if there was anything I could've done to make this not happen.. I literally feel soo bad and i feel somehow This is my fault he passed away... thanks..

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
Hi there. I'm so sorry that you had this sad experience. :( It may have been one of many things....sickly batch of babies from a weak mother, calcium deficiency, impaction and yes, possibly ADV. Was he acting sickly right from the start ? Does the store still have some of his siblings, and if so how are they doing ? If it was a baby or young juvenile it definitely wasn't brumating.

If you like, post pics of your set up and list the exact type + brand of lights you were using. Here's how to post pics here :

https://www.beardeddragon.org/useruploads/ Then use the XIMG to upload them

Usually even if your care was not optimal it wouldn't cause the death in one month of owning the baby. It probably was sick before you got it.

Inferno344

Original Poster
AHBD":ohobztya said: