Not having a good time

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hemberger

Hello!
I have an almost 5 mo old dragon. Generally in good health. Temps are 105-110 degrees F for basking spot. Cool side around 75-80 degrees F. 40 gal tank. Reptisun 10.0 T5 with Flood light on a dimmer right next to each other. Eating Roaches very well and a mixed salad of greens. I have tried added different kinds of squash and the occasional food options, but all she wants are the greens. Poop smells horrendous, but well formed and well formed urates. We have been battling coccidia ever since we got her in June. We are on the third treatment. First two was Albon, this time it is Ponazuril (I don't want to get into the vet, and medications though). I am a registered vet tech and I trust my doctors.

I am getting frustrated with the cleaning process. Here is what I am doing. Tank has everything removed but paper towels, two bricks and one piece of slate tile for a basking area
Every day, take Arrow out, put in plastic tub where she poops then gets out and explores. Then I take out the paper towels, put the two bricks and slate tile in the over cook at 250 degrees for 45 min. Steam clean the tank, each "strip"/"row" I take 1 min on then onto the next row. takes about 35-40 min. I let that dry out with a fan. Line tank with new paper towels and clean brick and tile go in. Steam clean the plastic tub, food dishes ( twice a day). Once I put the roaches in the tank and she doesn't eat them all, I don't put them back in the roach bin. Trying to keep everything separate and clean.

I am just now realizing my steam cleaner is not getting hot enough, only getting to 140 degrees F at the most. Now I need to buy another one?!
Bought the cleaner F10 (ready to use). Does this kill coccidia?? I am getting mix responses on this question. I spray it, leave visibly wet for 10 min then let air dry. If I could use this in the tank and tub that would make things a little bit easier.