Treat pinworms/coccidia?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erimis

Hi ! I've had my dragon, Humperdinck, for a week today. He is 9 weeks old. He seems to be doing well, most days he eats great. Stools are usually normal, twice the stool portion appears to be covered in mucus.
I am a vet tech- for dogs and cats! I have no medical experience with reptiles. I did a float on him yesterday, saw two pinworm eggs and 3+ coccidia. Since I've only had him a week should I bother treating? Should I repeat a fecal in 2 weeks and see if the numbers have reduced?
We would treat a dog if it had even one egg on a slide so it makes me nervous not to treat, but he's not symptomatic. Reading through posts it seems maybe I should just wait-maybe he its just stress?
Just need some reassurance, don't want to screw up on my first beardie!
Thanks, Missi

Erimis

Original Poster
I don't know if it matters but he has been in shed since I got him. He just finished yesterday. The few times he didn't eat with gusto I chalked up to shedding.

BeardedAaliyah

Hatchling Member
We waited with our Beardie, and she got severely worse. It took her about the same time to get better. Reptiles usually show symptoms after it gets pretty bad. They're pretty good at hiding illness. The sooner you treat your Beardie, the sooner your Beardie will get better.

Aaliyah lost a lot of weight, and had to be force fed, which was stressful for her and us.

kjinxx2

Sub-Adult Member
I also waited for mine to show symptoms and he went off feed for about a week because of it. Don't wait (for treating the pinworms), treatment is really cheap and has very little effects on the positive flora. Coccidia (from what I've read) is okay at low levels and should reduce with the reduction of pinworms.

jewl495

Juvie Member