true salmonella risk?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,
I'm relatively new to the bearded dragon community. I have heard about reptiles and the risk of salmonella that comes along with them. I handle my beardie but always wash my hands right after. Reading more of this forum I see that a lot of people let their lizards run around the house, socialize with pets, and pretty much do everything with them. I'll be honest and say that we have a 9 month old dragon that I've never felt comfortable letting out to run around because of this issue, we also have a puppy that I don't touch or let other people touch after they handle the lizard until they wash their hands. I'm hoping someone can answer this question for me, mostly just to put my worries to rest as to what the real risk of salmonella is for my family and dog by having the bearded dragon out walking around the house.

Thank you for anyone that can provide answers, it's much appreciated ! :)

LJean

Extreme Poster
I'm not sure how much/little of a risk it is...
I have two dragons, a turtle and frogs. There hasn't been any illness' from salmonella in this house. (also have a cat, two dogs and a child)

I do wear gloves when cleaning tanks/enclosures but not when handling the pets.

mickeysmomma

Sub-Adult Member
My neighbor lost thier son to salmonella from a lizard...He was a newborn baby at the time, and they swear they were good at handwashing, but he still contracted it. He died when he was 2 or 3..had major, major problems from it.

Go to youtube, and type in Elijah's Story and you will get more details.

My kids are older, so I am not nervous about it. We all wash our hands, and I carry sanitizer in the carrier if I bring Louie out any where and someone touches her.

PrettyPetunia518

Original Poster
mickeysmomma":3ekugtxl said: