New baby beardie

Status
Not open for further replies.

BeardieSpark

Hi,

I am new to owning a bearded dragon. I have read so many discussions and websites. I am not sure how old this baby is he looks be only a month old. We got him Monday last week, so it will be 1 week tomorrow. He just seems kind of lethargic, he didn’t eat for the first 3 days which I read is normal, so then we finally got him to eat crickets but only with tongs. He will not hunt for them. He won’t eat salad. We have been dripping water on his nose. We have been getting him to eat 5-6 crickets a day but only with tongs. He has pooped everyday since we started feeding him (yay super proud moment when he pooped) Are they suppose to be active? He is either a lazy one or lethargic, he just kind of sleeps under the heat all day, either on his rock or on the floor. We just switched our uvb to the reptisun t5 light yesterday. Should I give him a bath or wait another week to let him settle in longer?

Our setup
40 gallon
150 w light (we had 100 w but it was hot enough for a baby)
Reptisun t5
Carpet substrate
Basking rock
Hammock
Driftwood
Water bowl
Salad bowl

Any tips, advice or some reassurance?

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4
So lets go over what you posted
150 w light (we had 100 w but it was hot enough for a baby) what is the temp and how are you taking it? NO stickons they are inaccurate
Reptisun t5 where in the tank is it? Top of screen or inside the tank? If on top of screen your screen MUST be a wide hole type -- if its a fine screen like a screen door it needs to be inside the tank-- distance plays a key role once we establish this we can then fix what needs to be fixed
He will go thru relocation stress but he should be active and basking --- pooping is good - he needs to stay hydrated tho -- salads are a good way to do that rinse before serving ignore the kale thing its a good staple feeder http://www.beautifuldragons.com/Nutrition.html