My bearded dragon won’t grow and is incredibly small

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikey7

I have a 7 month old bearded dragon and i got him at about 5 months old. When we got him he had pneumonia but he was treated by a vet soon after. Now, he hasnt grown in size at all and he seems sick with something but I’m not sure what. he has water available and the temperature in his tank is 100 during the day and around 85 at night. The humidity in his tank is about 48 during the day and 55-60 at night. Due to lack of growth I changed his appetite this weekend from crickets (he ate about 10 a day) to superworms (he eats 1-2 per day). He also usually has kale available in his tank to eat. He is 8 inches long. I am not sure what to do and its my first time owning a bearded dragon. I don’t know if he has parasites or if it is something else.

>>After some more research I saw that there are other lizards called Rankins dragons? Do you think there is a chance he is a Rankins dragon? I will upload a picture of him.

>>>> image:
https://www.dropbox.com/preview/image.jpg?role=personal

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hi there,

We have to login to view the picture. Try uploading it to the forum or another image hosting site.

Lack of growth almost always comes down to husbandry and diet. So let's just verify those before we move on.

I know you mentioned your temperature already, but can you let us know what your actual basking surface temp is?
And what are you using to measure your temps?

What type of uvb bulb do you have?

Why did you switch from the crickets? Was 10 the max he would eat a day or did you only give him 10? And did you offer him just once a day or multiple times a day?

If you could post a picture of your enclosure too that would help.

-Brandon

mikey7

Original Poster