Power outage

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarsnDragons

This is my first time on this site and I’ve got maybe an hour till it is dark. I don’t have a backup generator/heating pads/warm water/electricity. I’ve had her under a blanket all day but she is still cold. I don’t want her to stay cold and I want her to be warm. Is there anything I can do besides putting her in a box and putting her under a pillow/ blanket? Please help!

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
A blanket wont do much. They are not warm blooded like we are. So a blanket wont help them stay warm. You would be better off putting her in between your shirt and skin. So that you can give her some body heat.

That's really all you can do if you dont have power, dont have chemical heat packs, and cant start a fire.

Do you have warm water at all?

How long will you be out of power?

-Brandon

CarsnDragons

Original Poster
claudiusx":3v74ozmy said:
A blanket wont do much. They are not warm blooded like we are. So a blanket wont help them stay warm. You would be better off putting her in between your shirt and skin. So that you can give her some body heat.

That's really all you can do if you dont have power, dont have chemical heat packs, and cant start a fire.

Do you have warm water at all?

How long will you be out of power?

-Brandon

Yeah peco says maybe until Sunday. But I’m hopeful. No warm water because we can’t run the water heater and it’s not exactly warm this November. We ended up starting a fire and I’m keeping her close any tips for night time?

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
She should be ok over night. How cold is it getting at night?
She should be ok as long as you're able to warm her back up in the morning and throughout the day.

It's a tough situation.
Worst case scenario could you drive somewhere that had power and bring a heat lamp with you? I'm not sure how wide spread your power outage is.

-Brandon

CarsnDragons

Original Poster
claudiusx":xbl5ash5 said: