Bearded Dragon Sick/Changing Color

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Everyone,

So if you've read my previous posts, you know I have "Spike", my bearded dragon. He has had it rough over the last few years due to poor care while I was away, but I have since gotten him back and rehabilitated him.

Over the last two weeks or so, I have seen a marked change in my beardie, he's more active, doesn't hide, and has his appitite back.

However, today I noticed that he has begun changing color along his face and beard. He is turning white. Normally, I'd suspect that he is shedding, but I've had him for 7 years now and have experienced numerous sheds, and none have been like this. Instead of turning grey/dull in appearance, he is turning white. A shiny white color along the top right side of his head and 1/2 of his beard.

He is still very active and eating, moves between his hammock and basking spot, and seems ok (doesn't act likes he's in pain when I touch the affected spot).

This happened almost overnight, by the way. Prior to noticing it today, I had him out less than 2 days ago and I would've noticed it then.

I've attached some images below of what it looks like. Normally in place of that white color he is the surrounding grey and orange that the rest of his head has.

Thanks for the help in advance!

101048-3458045391.jpg
101048-1900597718.jpg
101048-6313218237.jpg
101048-7717242450.jpg
101048-3299263185.jpg

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
I'm glad to hear he is doing well. That definitely looks like a shed to me. I don't see signs of a problem - just a thick shed layer that should start to peel soon.

HammerDragon7

Original Poster
Hey Everyone,

So I’m still not sure what’s going on with him but over these last few days he hasn’t shed (if that’s what it really is) since I made the initial post.