Has bubble wrap boils on side of face

Status
Not open for further replies.

Happy3535

I am new to bearded dragons. I have a 3 year old male. I just got him from a petstore a week ago and he was fine when I got him. I can never get my tank to reach high temps it stays in the 70s to 80s. He has calcium sand and I just got him a hammock off ebay a few days ago but it was new. He's shedding on his stomach but anyways I noticed a type bubble wrap rash on the side of his face. He has vet apt Tuesday but wanted to know if he would be ok that long. He's hyper still and eating. I give him calcium d3 once a week and he has lettuce and one strawberry and 6 medium sized crickets a day. If anyone can help me I would appreciate it. I do have a picture but didn't know if I can post or how to post it.

destiny1998

Extreme Poster
Photo Comp Winner
Hi. How far way from the lights is he? How are you taking the temps? That calcium sand is very bad. Should be replaced by non adhesive shelf liner, tile, paper towels. A picture of his rash would be good.

EllenD

Gray-bearded Member
In addition to the photos of him and close ups of his face, as well as photos of his enclosure and his lights, can you list what brand/model/wattage and type (compact, coil, tube) of UVB light you have, and the same for your basking light? What size is your enclosure (dimensions or gallons)? And are you using a stick-on thermometer to take temps, or do you have a digital thermometer with a probe on a wire?