Rate my setup. Any tips? Beardie problems!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MattRL

Hi, i have a baby beardie about a month old and ive had him for three weeks. Ever since i got him the first day hes only been eating 1-3 waxworms a day which is concerning. I have pictures of my setup but dont know how to post them. (Help is appreciated!) i want ratings on my setup to improve it. Maybe my lighting is bad and i need to change it to make my beardie gain appetite? I dont know. I am a novice at taking care of beardies as this is my first one. I dont want my lil beardie dying on my me because of poor care. My lights are sitting on the mesh lid and for some reason my beardie doesnt bask that much. It could be the rock because when i felt it its really hot and that might burn his stomach. ALL HELP IS GREAT :)

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
To post images use the XIMG button
or (I find it easier to)
upload to TINYPIC and copy the
code to the post
or
upload to POSTIMAGE.ORG and copy the ***.PNG into the post using the img button.

These might help you review your setup in a methodical way :
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=234738&p=1806050#p1806050
and
viewtopic.php?f=34&t=235611

Best feeders for a very young hatchling bearded dragon .
Good staple insects
>> BSF maggots
>> blowfly gents
and the pupae and flies , great for hatchlings and juveniles , naturally rich in calcium
>> silkworms
small (1-1.5 inch for sub 3 month olds)
medium (1.5 - 2 inch for larger hatchlings and juveniles)
large ( > 2 inch for beardies older than 12 months.
>> crickets / roaches / locusts , must be gutloaded with calcium rich foods and greens & dusted LIGHTLY with calcium powder.

Repashi GRUBPIE is acceptable as a backup food.

Hard and soft pellets , dubious , ok mixed in as softened croutons through they greens/salad (maybe).

Bites = rubbish food.

Insects suitable for treats
wax worms
and if beardie is over 12 months old
mealworms (lavae , pupae and beetles)
superworms (lavae , pupae and beetles)