Baby (3weeks old?) changes eating behavior in a week

Status
Not open for further replies.

teaflower

I wasn’t entirely sure where to put this post, I’ll move it to the appropriate place if need be.

Tank Specs:
40 Gallon
150W Basking Bulb
UVB Coil Bulb
10.0 UVB Tube Light
Ceramic Heat Emitter (for bedtime)
Papertowels for a substrate (easy clean up and I’m scared his fecal matter will blend into the brown carpet I have had in the tank previously, and I’m a bit of a clean freak).
A mini bowl for his H2O (mixed with liquid to make the water safe to drink)
A mini bowl for his salads.

I recently (8 days ago to be exact) adopted a baby beardie from PetSmart. He seems to be a hatchling, by taking a guess with it’s size. I recently had to put my very first beardie down, he was nearly a year and a half old. I know my way around Bearded Dragons, but I’m no expert.

The first night with it wasn’t too bad. It stood in the same place for an hour or so and then climbed up it’s tree and fell asleep for the night when the timers for the light switched off.

The second day, I bought crickets for it (and coated them with the calcium supplement) and it had about 3 or 4 and then ran off up it’s tree for the night. It showed no interest in the salad (I’ve read a few posts saying babies won’t show interest in salads for awhile), but this is where it started to concern me..

The 3rd day, it showed interest in the crickets, but when I went to feed it, it ran off and showed zero interest for any crickets, dead or alive.

I haven’t tried leaving the crickets in the tank for it to hunt (I don’t want the crickets gnawing on him at night), I’ve only attempted to hand feed it.