Newly bought 2ish month spending more time in hide

Status
Not open for further replies.

BeardieSmaug

Hatchling Member
Hello,

So I got my lil dude 3 days ago, aobut 2 months and a week or two, and the first two days he was active and basking all the time and moving around his viv, but today hes been hiding in his hide since 1pm (almost 6pm) and lights go out at 9. Maybe just relocation stress and he needs his sleep?
Or maybe my lighting is getting in his way?
I have a Zilla desert T8 24" uvb fixture with REPTISUN 10.0 uvb bulb, mounted 8 inches from the basking spot.
Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamp 100w
temps:
basking 105-110
hot end 90-100
cool end 80-90

93594-4619758725.jpg

ChunksMomma23

Hello!

I’m no expert, I’ve recently gotten my girl a couple months ago at about the same age that yours is now. But I did months of research (spent lots of time on this website LOL).
It sounds to me like your “cool” side of the tank maybe still be a little warm (it’s not too high, it won’t harm your little dude as long as he has little “homes” or shady areas to cool off in. I think he may just be a little warm and may be cooling off.
Did he have tank mates where you bought him? He may also just be super confused and in shock right now. As long as he is eating some-what regularly (it took me a couple days to get my baby beardie to eat anything but s couple mealworms from me, she was probably seeing if she could trust me or not ?) I think he will be fine! Just be patient, understanding, give him time to adjust, but still spending lots of time with him, and I think you will have a happy loving beardie in no time!
Like I said I’ve only had mine for a month or two, and she’s still a little shy and not sure of me, but we’re getting there :)

Good luck!! I hope I helped.

JessPets

Gray-bearded Member