My bearded dragon hates me

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexisg

Hi, I’m a newbie when it comes to bearded dragons, well, more like reptiles in general. I have had my bearded dragon for about a month now and I have spent hours researching everything I need to know about their behavior, what’s normal and what’s not, etc. and I have not found anything that is helping me fix my new obstacle, My bearded dragon all of a sudden hates me. The first two weeks of owning him and letting him settle in, everything went great! He was so sweet and it seemed like he enjoyed when I held him and let him explore around my bed, but the last week or so he has been terrified of me. Anytime I put my hand in his cage he freaks out and sprints to the opposite side of his viv. I understand that they are skiddish when they are young, but I don’t know what could have made him so scared of me out of no where.

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Sometimes they just go through moods like that. Do you see signs of a shed coming on (dull waxy skin, white spots, etc)? That can put them in a bad mood sometimes. Sometimes if something is off with the lighting or heat it can cause them to act up but they usually either act lethargic or glass surf a lot if that's the case. Sometimes it's hormonal but that is usually with dragons who are around a year(ish) old or after brumation. I would be patient with him and give him space if he seems defensive around you. You could try offering a treat by hand but I wouldn't be too forceful with it.

Alexisg

Original Poster
CooperDragon":2dvkvnhj said: