Help????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Veralyyy

So I'm new at owning a bearded dragon, I adopted him he's around 6 months old I believe and has a missing toe, he has a 40 gallon 150 Repti basking light 10.0 reptisun UVB, he's basking spot is around 95-110 degrees, cool side is around 84ish degree, substrate is repti carpet I feed him mostly dandelion greens and some fruit to switch it up a bit, for live feeding he eats about 40 crickets a day and I dust them with calcium...when I first got him he was all active but I didn't let him out much to not stress him out, he gotten use to me now, but I noticed that he never leaves the cool side not even to bask in the morning hes always hiding in his cave and doesn't wanna be bothered, and sometimes takes a nap...he was shedding last week but he's tail is still in the process... is he stressed? What should I do?

traildrifterphalanx

Sub-Adult Member
Welcome to the forum!

How long have you had your dragon? They can be pretty stressed due to relocation, and shedding can stress as well - some take it harder than others.
How are you acquiring the temperature? If you're using a stick on dial those things are known to be inaccurate and it's possible the basking area may be too hot.
It sounds like his appetite is good, at least.

Veralyyy

Original Poster
traildrifterphalanx":dszdlaty said:
Welcome to the forum!

How long have you had your dragon? They can be pretty stressed due to relocation, and shedding can stress as well - some take it harder than others.
How are you acquiring the temperature? If you're using a stick on dial those things are known to be inaccurate and it's possible the basking area may be too hot.
It sounds like his appetite is good, at least.

I had it for 20 days so far! And I have a temperature gun!

traildrifterphalanx

Sub-Adult Member
After 20 days his relocation should be pretty settled.
Is he still active and eating the 40 or so crickets a day? It may be just shed related for the grumpiness