eye infection?

Status
Not open for further replies.

simulacra

I realize that similar topics have been posted on these and other forums before, but I don't think I'm being redundant, because all cases are different, and I'm going to provide the particular details relevant for my animal—it could be something entirely different from what is determined in other such posts.

to start with, I'm not sure how old the bearded dragon I have is. I've had it for roughly eight months, and it was probably two or three months old when it was acquired, though I'm no expert on aging lizards; I think it was around 8-10 (~25cm) inches in total length around then. it is now hovering around 15 - 15.5 inches (~38cm), and I don't know its weight. its environment is currently a small 20 gallon aquarium, which I have been meaning to change to a 40 gallon "breeder" for some time, and intend to do so very soon; the tank it's in now was mostly intended for the dragon when it was younger and growing (it surely has outgrown it now). unfortunately, its substrate currently is crushed walnut shells, which I know are not digestable, and that is a bad thing. I plan to switch it out for heavily sifted and filtered play sand (or "reptile carpet," whatever) very soon. however, I haven't noticed any problems to this point (which doesn't mean there aren't any), and I'm fairly certain there hasn't been any [significant] impaction. the lizard did, for a while, start going to the bathroom more infrequently than usual (on the period of a few days), but it did not have trouble doing so when it did, and it would response to inducement, afforded with warm baths.