beardie wont eat... wont sit under basking spot??? HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

danny662boy

Hatchling Member
so i bought my first beardie yesterday a lil guy about 6 inches, and i put him in his kingdom (40 gall breeder) i have a flukers medium iguana branch that goes to this like tree thing thats in the shape of a y. the highest point of the branch is about 6 inches from the screen top, which lies my 5.5" fixture with a 75 watt zoo med reptibasking spot lamp.. and in the middle i have the deep dome with the repti sun 10.0 compact flourescent... i check the basking spot with my temp gun often to see the temp rise, i havent gotten it to a 100 so far, its at 84 and i turned it on an hour ago.. do i need a stronger bulb? maybe 100 watt to get the correct basking spot? he doesnt seem to sit under the basking light, but goes offset to the right of it on the branch? and he hasnt ate a cricket or veg yet? maybe since its a new environment??

Drakonia13

I'm not an expert by any means, but I do know they have relocation stress for about a week. I might simply be that. :D

Poisoned1

Gray-bearded Member
A big reason your dragon may not be sitting under the basking light is because your uv is located close to it and your uv is a very dangerous one.

The compact have been known to cause major injuries to the eyes, I will let you know that you need to get a reptisun 10, from http://www.petmountain.com they are cheap it's the flourescent bulb one.

You must get the flourescent bulb not the compact or the coil.

And you also probably do need a stronger bulb, how are you measuring temps?

danny662boy

Hatchling Member
Original Poster