Mites??? New dragon owner, pls help!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
]Hello! Two weeks ago I adopted my bearded dragon Kyro from a friend of mine who could no longer keep him. His conditions then weren’t fantastic — he’s fully grown (about four years old) and was living in a 29-gallon aquarium that was lined with dirty paper towels. I’ve since moved him into a 40-gallon breeder, but his behavior has been kind of strange. He’s very lethargic and hasn’t eaten a single thing in the two weeks I’ve had him. I’ve offered collard greens, kale, bell peppers, cucumbers, blueberries, and superworms, none of which have been touched. The only time I've seen him drink is when I dripped water on his nose in the bathtub. I kinda chalked all of this up to him being in a new and unfamiliar environment, but then today I noticed these four or five spots on the top of his body, and many many more on the underside. I'm new to owning beardies so I don't want to overreact, but can someone tell me if these are mite bites??? And if they are, what do I do?!???!?!! Freaking out a bit!

Sidenote: His UVB is an ExoTerra150 bulb coil 26 Watt and both that light and his heat lamp are clipped onto the sides of his tank. There is no mesh lid
109221-8313375725.jpg
109221-3796785693.jpg
109221-2723017456.jpg
109221-8338353843.jpg

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
Hi there, nice looking beardie with cool pattern on his belly and the good news is that he does not have mites. Those are just random specks that many beardies will get and not a health concern at all. :) What's his name ? If you need any help with care + set up be sure to ask.

hayley0501

Original Poster
AHBD":2q90uvt4 said:
Hi there, nice looking beardie with cool pattern on his belly and the good news is that he does not have mites. Those are just random specks that many beardies will get and not a health concern at all. :) What's his name ? If you need any help with care + set up be sure to ask.