Sick juvenile Bearded....Help please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tdavenport84

Sorry this is so long......I have a juvenile female sick bearded. I'm new to the world of owning a reptile. We originally got her an a pet for our four year son about five months ago. She quickly became my pet. She has slowly stopped eating in the past month. She went from not wanting Dubai roaches to crickets to only eating meal worms. I have a very hard time getting her to eat any veggies. I can't get her to eat anything now. She is not a big drinker too. About three or four weeks ago she had a runny poop & that didn't poop for almost two weeks. We gave her a bath & let her swim in it. It worked amazingly. She was impacted. It was the biggest poop from her I'd ever seen. We have been getting her a bath more often to help her poop. But she has been going as much from lack of eating. Her last poop was this last Saturday. It was hard to tell if it was a normal looking poop cause it was in the bath. I took her to the pet store we got her from to look for guidance on getting her to eat. They showed us how to get her to open her mouth to give her crickets. She ate about four or five of them at the pet store & three the next day. Then refused eating them again. She was moving good & acting fairly normal as of Saturday. Now she is hiding a lot & very lethargic. I know she is lacking calcium that she needs cause her back legs are getting stiff. I do not have any local vets that deal with reptiles. The closest one is about an hour to an hour in a half away. They do not have anything open until July for an appointment. Two nights ago I did a telehealth appointment with a vet online. He was a big help. He even called me today to see how she was doing. He recommended daily baths with liquid calcium, getting the humidity & the temp up in the basking side of the tank. I can get it up to about 90 to 95. But I can't get it up any higher. The pet store recommended baby food to get her to eat.