Help. Berded dragon urgent scale problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jimmy72

Hi i have a problem with my adult/young adult bearded dragon that i have bought, after the original owner decided they no longer wanted it. At first it seemed fine and healthy ,
But about a fortnight ago i noticed a hard lump on his front leg that looked like it was a bit of loose skin that wasnot shedding properly? It finaly came off, scales and all. I thought it was minor scale damage that was was healing, as it was dry, but i aplied tamodine iodine solution periodically and kept an eye on it just in case. I was about to bath him today and to my horror the scales around the lump apear to be going hard? It also looks like it is spreading to his chest area near his leg.
I took a picture but i dont know how to upload it atm.

Jimmy72

Original Poster
I am new to reptile keeping and am researching to see what this could be. Any and all helpfull information would be much appreciated. Is it scale rot? Virus? Bacterial? I am worried because he has not been eating much today but maybe its not related?

Jimmy72

Original Poster
Could this be caused by yellow fungus? If so can it be treated because i just read that it cant? I feel awfull for him. I dont know if it is somthing i have done or he was sick when i got him.

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4
To me it looks like the skin has gotten too dry and has cracked and there is stuff you can put on it but we need to find out just what ---- Brandon or AHBD or Tracie needs to look at this and they can give recommendations --
Karrie

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4