Worried new beardie momma! Sick!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krysjosh

Hello!
I’m very concerned about the baby I recently purchased a week ago. Last Sunday. My husband and I went to a pet store and purchased a beardie, baby. He was the smallest in the tank. We didn’t know size mattered and to be honest probably still would have purchased him to give him the care he needs. We were not educated on him. We are brand new and actively researched. The baby is Lathargic and super skinny! He isn’t eating or drinking. I began misting him today, we discovered his tank heat wasn’t right and see how active he becomes when it is right. I am a teacher so he has to go from the home tank to classroom tank. I force fed him today baby food, sweet potatoes... I just want to be a good momma, and him to live a long happy life! He appears to have grown longer just on wider in the week he have had him, he’s not eating crickets.... please help me!

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hi there,

Most of the time, when you get a new dragon they will go through relocation stress. During this time they usually have a pretty decreased appetite, but it should build up over the first week or so until it becomes normal. As long as the husbandry is in order, everything should be fine.

I will mention it's probably not ideal to be moving him back and fourth daily. At least for now until he settles in. It can be very stressful on a young one to constantly being in a new environment.

Proper lighting and temperatures are very important during this time, and for the rest of your dragons life. We could go over your setup with you to make sure everything is ok?

We just need to know what uvb bulb you are using, brand/type/etc.
What the temperatures in your tank are - mainly your basking surface temp
And what you are using to measure your temps.