Too young for breeding?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So i just bought a female sub adult beardie and i have another sub adult but male. The female i just got 2 days ago. they are both around 9-10 months i think and I just let them run around in our bath room cause they cant go anywhere. This time they mated and i really do not know what to do now because I just read about it and it turns out that the female might die?! Could anybody help me and explain to me what I will need for the female and for the eggs? This is the first time I've had a female and I've only had the male for around 8 months now so I'm pretty new at this still. :| :( :?:

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
Best to avoid her becoming gravid until she's at least 2 years old. If yo'reu lucky , she's not really fertile yet and he was only firing blanks. Not every matting results in fertilized eggs.

So no hanky-panky for her for this season.

Reason is developing eggs and laying one to more clutches is very hard on a young immature dragon's body , best to let her become fully grown and fully developed if you have your heart set on breeding her.
Keep in mind you will need an incubator and when the hatchling emerge they are very hungry and need live insect meals several times per day and adequate housing , are you prepared for that ?

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
OddlyToasty":38as3dux said:
This time they mated and i really do not know what to do now because I just read about it and it turns out that the female might die?! Could anybody help me and explain to me what I will need for the female and for the eggs?
kingofnobbys":38as3dux said:
Best to avoid her becoming gravid until she's at least 2 years old.

So no hanky-panky for her for this season.

Hi there,

Since they already mated there's not much point in telling you to avoid her becoming gravid lol. Not like you have much say in it now :p