Sick Baby Ember

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, everyone! I’m new posting this site, though I’ve been using it for information for the 3 months that I have had my bearded dragon. I obtained him through a pets in the classroom grant from petco (I realize now that’s an awful place to get pets). My setup is as follows: 20 gallon viv, ReptiSun 10 HO UVB tube, a zoomed heat lamp, counter liners as substrate, 110 on hot side, 80 on cool side, 10-20° low humidity but I mist often in attempts to raise humidity(Colorado in winter). I have a digital thermometer and hygrometer inside the Viv.

Over thanksgiving break, a student’s family watched him, and he came back to me with a broken leg and lowered appetite. :( I immediately took him to the vet (a decent vet with reptile specialty) and the vet said he was at risk of developing MBD so prescribed calcium glubionate and meloxacam for pain management with broken leg. 3 weeks went by and the little dude seemed to be perking up and started moving around more vigorously by Christmas.

3 weeks ago, he suddenly lost his appetite then started severely turning to the left. So severely in fact, that it appears his spine is now stuck turned to the left. He will occasionally get head tremors and flip upside down. He wouldn’t eat anything so I started syringe feeding him baby chicken and squash with a little calcium and vitamin powder mixed in.

1 week ago, because of appointment issues, even though I tried to get him in earlier, I brought him to the vet and she said he had an infection, likely inner ear, and prescribed enroflaxacin. I also noticed that he seemed to be developing tail rot. I clean his cage so often, so this was discouraging. The vet thinks the tail rot is because of a stuck shed on the tip of his tail and it makes me feel so bad. He will be having a check-up and partial amputation on Tuesday.