"Swollen" beard and small lump on throat *URGENT*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vilderup

Hello people,

my 8 month old beardie "Chili" got a "swollen" beard 5 days ago and I can now feel a small lump inside her throat, I have two bearded dragons, so I have compared the two. I can't feel a lump on the healthy one, so what can it be? Cyst, abscess, tumor??? (I am new to keeping dragons)

She has been eating very well, greens and insects (dubia, crickets and superworms) dusted with calcium powder combined with vitamins. The basking light is around 100 f and she has multiple levels to choose from (high, mid and low). She is still very active and runs around, exploring. The lump doesn't seem to bother her.

Photos:
https://imgur.com/a/E2rMQH7

What should I do? Should I worry and take her to the vet or what?

Any advice would be appreciated!!

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
Hi there, some dragons do just develop a saggy beard, other times it can be a piece of food lodged down in there. Can you get Chili's mouth open for a good look ? If not you might opt for a vet visit , but only an experienced vet that sees beardies, or at least has a decent amount of experience with reptiles. Best wishes to Chili !

Vilderup

Original Poster
AHBD":1xwkr5hx said:
Hi there, some dragons do just develop a saggy beard, other times it can be a piece of food lodged down in there. Can you get Chili's mouth open for a good look ? If not you might opt for a vet visit , but only an experienced vet that sees beardies, or at least has a decent amount of experience with reptiles. Best wishes to Chili !