My baby bearded dragon is acting strange

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chelseag3

Hey guys, I’m new to this. So I got a baby bearded dragon about 2 weeks ago from petco(first mistake, I know?). I am not sure how old he is but he’s tiny. So we have fed him crickets tossed in the powdered calcium, and some kale and fruits that I have not seen him actually eat. We give him 15 min baths almost daily. But skipped his bath two days in a row. Our cleaning lady turned his heating and UV lamps off yesterday not realizing what they were used for and they were off for no more than 3 hours. But today he has been strangely still. Eyes sunken in and looks dehydrated. I have given him two 15 min baths since I noticed him looking this way. He pooped in his bath and again about 2 hours later on me along with pee! So I know he’s going to the bathroom. I have no idea what’s going on but I’m worried! Anyone know what could be going on?

destiny1998

Extreme Poster
Photo Comp Winner
Hi. Can you give a rundown of the set up? Lights used?Brands? Temps and how you take them? How big is the enclosure?

Chelseag3

Original Poster
I am taking my kids to school at the moment and can give more details once I’m home. But we bought the reptihabitat from Pet co. It was like the starter kit! Dual dome lamp fixture with a reptisun 10.0 UVB compact fluorescent bulb and a 100 watt repti basking spot lamp. It’s a 40 gallon glass tank with white repti sand substrate (which I now read isn’t great for baby bearded dragons bc of impaction. But I watched him poop twice and pee once yesterday so I don’t think that’s the issue). And we use the temp gauge that came with the set up. It sticks to the glass. Thank you so much for responding!

destiny1998

Extreme Poster
Photo Comp Winner