MBD and Parasite recovery?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SootyShep

Hello, I'm not very good at compiling things I need to say ( I do jump around a bit) so please excuse me for that but I have some concerns about my dragon.

About 4 weeks ago I bought a bearded dragon from petco and named it Lemon (I dont know the age, he's about 6 1/2 inches from tail tip to snout). I'm not aware if Lemon is male or female, it doesnt matter to me tbh but I THOUGHT I seen little lumps indicating a male so we'll go with "He" for now. Anyway! Lemon was pretty full of energy when I seen him, but I noticed that the beardies there were not being fed live anything. They just had dried worms. I asked when purchasing how much live to feed them and where can I buy the food in the store. They told me they haven't had shipments of live food for the beardies because of the storms happening. I instantly knew I was going to have problems with the health of this poor creature. I did research immediately and learned about MBD and all the other illnesses that can occur. But Lemon was pretty full of energy and SEEMINGLY OK, I just wanted to give him a good new home and life aware from a pet store.

I set up Lemons tank, he's in a 20 gal (my dad is building me a big viv) he has tube UVB T8, heat lamp and a lamp for night (no light, ceramic for night if it gets too cold in my room), during the day his hot spot WAS at 95 until recently (I've managed to bump it to 110 exact), paper towels for his bedding for now and I've been ordering him dubai roaches small and powdering them with supplement that has D3 (he refuses to eat the veggies! UGH!).