Swollen back and paralyzed in back legs

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, I am new to the bearded dragon forum and created an account today. My Bearded dragon Nelly George is a year and two months old have had her for six months. She loves sitting on my shirt while I do homework, Xbox, and other activities. Yesterday evening she crawled up my shoulder to get on the back of the chair(she had done it before and never had any problems) however she was having a lot of difficulty getting up. She lost her grip on the wood and fell on our carpet. I immediately picked her up and put her on my thigh so she wouldn't try climbing again. Everything was fine until I picked her up and noticed her beard was black and her tail tip was black as well. Thinking she was just mad and hungry I put her in her cage. When I got back home with her wax worms I put them in her cage and noticed a large lump on her back and that she was paralyzed in her hind legs. She slept well last night and this morning had many tremors trying to make her legs work. I am new to bearded dragon pet owning. She has an appointment with the vet at two. Is there anything I need to do for her? Take her climbing stuff out?

EllenD

Gray-bearded Member
Oh I'm so sorry this happened, but you're doing the absolute best thing you can do by taking her to the vet quickly. Yes, I'd remove all of her climbing stuff because you don't want her to fall again, especially if she has a broken spine, which is what it sounds like unfortunately. You'll have to lower her basking light so she can get warm enough since she won't be able to climb up onto her usual basking spot, and I would also told up some towels or blankets and pad the bottom of her enclosure. You might want to bump her temps up a little too, by 5-10 degrees, just to keep her comfortable. Then just keep her as still as possible, if her spine is broken you don't want her moving around. Be careful handling her when you take her to the vet.