Worried about tail

Status
Not open for further replies.

gzambrano1124

My 2 y/o leatherback, "Pharoah" had a bit of a retained shed on the end of his tail. It came off after several days of soaking but I am concerned about one area that is dark and edges of the scales seem to blend together. Not sure if it is just a scar or if it could be tail rot. I am paranoid about yellow fungus (lost my old girl to it a while back)... it dosen't look the same but I don't like how long this took to shed or how thick and moist some part were. Im an equine veterinarian, with a special interest in reptiles but I am not boarded in exotics and definitely know more about horses than lizards. This little guy is very important to me, so I am definitely willing to take him up to the zoological medicine dept. at the UF vet school or down to Blue Pearl or some other specialty hospital if needed but I don't think it will be necessary since I can order any meds needed. Have been soaking in dilute Betadine and applying SSD (silver sulfadiazide) ointment as well as tolfonate antifungal spray. Started him on Baytril (enrofloxacin) 10mg/kg by mouth, doing probiotics and oral fluids with the baytril. I just want to make sure I'm not missing anything... I really don't want him to lose the end of his tail and would rather treat early and aggressively than regret it a few days from now.
Thanks in advance!
93350-3716457277.jpg
93350-2310459330.jpg
93350-1139394092.jpg
93350-4221822899.jpg

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
Hi there, that's a handsome leather boy, hopefully this is just a band of shed that's late coming off. :) It looks nothing like Y.F, so I wouldn't be concerned about that.

Can you post a pic like the first ones [ close up ] on a white background to show the tail better ?