Black beard

Status
Not open for further replies.

jessiepa

I am a newbie. Had my 5 year old rescue 9 months now. First year is real hard was he suffered an impaction. He is presently force fed critical care omnivore and yes he saw the vet 4 times. He is on antibiotics cause the vet said his bowels might be enflamed"enteritis". Since the first day he was on antibiotics he is sportin a black beard 24/7 am I doing something wrong? I should also note his face just started to shed. I know force feeding is stressfull but We have been force feeding him for a while now cause of his impaction. Just concerned about his black beard.

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Has he pooped and passed the impaction? Which antibiotic is he on and for how long? Antibiotics can wipe out their beneficial gut bacteria and give them an upset stomach so the black beard isn't uncommon. I would offer plenty of water to help him process the antibiotics and you may want to include some probiotics as well to help replenish the good gut bacteria and help him feel better. http://www.bug-de-lite.com/store/index.php?app=ecom&ns=prodshow&ref=Acidophiliz

jessiepa

Original Poster
Thank You so much for your help. I ordered the probiotics and I also ordered the bee pollen. It would say on the bottle on the amount to give them right? He has 14 days of antibiotics "Enrofloxacin 25mg" and he poops daily. I figure if he poops daily he is ok on the impaction. He had 4 vet visits 3 enemas so far and I really can't afford X-rays. She can't feel any more impaction. He is pooping and I don't see anymore sand in his poop. She said to put his heat to 110 cause I asked her if him not eating could be a sign of brumation and she doesn't want him to brumate at the moment

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member