bearded dragon is limp and stumbling

Status
Not open for further replies.

pasquel

hey im new to bearded dragons.. i got my first bearded dragon about a month ago at age 3 months and 2 weeks ago i got a new one at age 2 months.
today when i took them out for their daily handle i noticed that the older one was ok and fit but the younger one was running around in circle and stumbling like a drink person. he would often run and then fall over and swing his head from side to side as if he was watching a tennis match.. im very very worried. and dont know what to do i noticed this at 7 oclock at night so i couldnt take him to the vet.
heres some information i better get out of the way
i use a 5.0 exo terra uvb bulb and a 40 watt light bulb at about 20 cm range but they can get closer. desert sand substrate and i feed calcium dusted crickets but ive fed them mealworms once about 5 days ago. they eat a lot of buk choy and carrot and i bathe them both once a day in luke warm water.

TheWolfmanTom

Extreme Poster
Hey,
1st lets fix your UV situation. The 5.0 isnt enough. Switch to a reptisun 10.0
For diet. go here http://www.beautifuldrgons.com
If you house them in the same tank seperate them and they will both thrive.
Now for the back and forth head. It could be an ear infection, a vet can check that out and a mild antibiotic for 2 weeks will set him straight.

pasquel

Original Poster
the breeder that sold me the dragons has over 30 years experience on reptiles and as i was going through the preperation for the reptile and i built the tank myself i kept him updated and asked for advice along the way. when it was finished all i needed was the lights and he strongly recomended a 5.0 uv globe and when i bought it from the pet store they had no objections to this.