Brand New beardie, I think he is sick!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mlm2588

:cry:
Ok so I literally just brought this little guy home and didnt really know what to expect. Im new to BDs, this is my first one. After reading here everyone is worried about inactivity and how alert there beardie is. Mine is not alert barely at all, I read that they are suposed to run around as babies and be energetic. Mine is the opposite, he seems to just lie around and bask in one area all day. I've only seen him eat once since I've got him and the rest of the time he seems uninterested. Idk, I'm worried about him, I know it's normal for a beardie to not eat because of transitioning stress, being in a new environment and all but I can't help but think that this is abnormal.

Here's his setup:
- 10 gallon tank (I have a 55 for him later, I had heard in order to keep a closer eye on him to start him out in something smaller)
- Two seperate small light fixtures: 1 is a basking light thats 75watts and the other is a SunGlo Desert 10.0
- I have three temperature gauges: 1 above a log hide were he likes to sit sometimes (on the side with the basking lamp) which is between 85 & 90, 1 at the other side opposite of the basking lamp that reads at about 75, and a digital temp. gauge in his basking area that reads at 102.4 degrees
- his subtrate is green repti carpet and I feed him small crickets dusted with Jurassi Cal.

Is there something I should be doing differently and can anyone tell me what I should do to get some food in him, because he's not eating and he kind of drags himself at times, which worries me as well. Any advise that can help me would be greatly appreciated so please comment.

zebraflavencs

Extreme Poster
Hi there, and welcome !
A few things have popped out in your post that concerns me.
That UVB bulb isn't the greatest, and I would recommend the ReptiSun 10.0. The Sun should be positioned so that your baby can get within 6-8 inches of it.