New to me, not to this world

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeNordic

Hello there, this is my very first post! I'm very new to caring for one of these guys. Zippy (the name of the bearded) belongs to one of my friends and I'm looking after him for an undetermined amount of time. With a new animal under my roof, I looked into taking care of one and I got addicted to it lol. I've been keeping the little fella warm, fed, and let him stretch his legs. There's some pictures attached, the enclosure seems small and and he too seems small for being 2 years old. I think he's roughly 10 inches long from nose to tail, I haven't measured him stretched out yet. He's also quite spontaneous and often stressed. If anyone has any pointers for little to no cost improvements that would be appreciated :) I'm new to caring for something in an enclosure and I'd love to get more into it
107566-7124173362.jpg
107566-5478378306.jpg

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4
The tank is too small- for a full size dragon he should be in a 75-120 gallon tank--- what kind of lighting is being used? UVB brand and bulb - what are you feeding him?
Karrie

LeNordic

Original Poster
It looks like a reptisun 5.0 uvb, his other light is a 120v 75w aqua culture (just reading the full label on bulb). I know it's a small tank, I felt that way as soon as I got him :( For a diet it's crickets, kale and carrots. There's calcium powder too, but I'm unsure of how often I should use that

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)