The Story of How Hurc became my dragon

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, I am a newbie dragon parent. Here's the story of how we adopted an 8 year old Beardie for my daughter but now he's mine. Never in my life did I think I would love a reptile so much.
So we adopted Hurc last summer (Jun 2019) from a friend of my daughter. My daughter wanted a dragon so much and they were looking to re-home Hurc with his entire set up. It was my understanding that his primary caregiver was teenager and had "lost" interest. My daughter was the expert on bearded dragons as she cared for one at her school and would bring one one on holidays, summers, etc. I bought two books and was reading all the forums and posts about bearded dragons.
The day we brought Hurc home, my daughter said he was pretty thin but he ate everything she gave him. The second day, his eyes were bulging and crusted over from mucous. My oldest daughter is a registered vet tech and luckily there were two vets at her clinic with some exotic experience. The first few images are when he came home after 2 days in the hospital. Hurc was in bad shape he was severely dehydrated, had parasites was only 14 ounces (396g), and had this eye issue. Hurc had been roamer in the previous owners garage and was eating roaches and bugs he caught.
For the next month I fed him through a syringe critical care and gave him daily baths with electrolytes to help with hydration. He bonded to me, and would become active when he heard my voice. By the end of August he was weighing 19.65 ounces (557g) eating on his own and looking so much better. The 4 picture collage shows his progress.