Introduction to me and my beardie family

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spikesmom1970

I don't know why it took me so long to join. I am not a newbie to dragons, having acquired our first boy, Toothless 14 months ago. It was my husband's idea. We had just lost our beloved kitty Dale. We were not ready for another cat but our home felt so empty without a pet to love. I didn't really think a reptile could fill a void. Honestly, I assumed they were just lumps that needed to be fed and watered but I allowed my husband to get one anyway. Boy , was I wrong. Toothless actually has a personality and enjoys snuggles, watching tv and looking out the window. If he catches my eye, he will glass surf to come out, but only if he knows one of us is watching. He is rather smart. We enjoyed him so much that we ended up rescuing a female from a pet store 2 months later. She is missing 1 foot and part of her tail. They were going to euthanize her and I couldn't let that happen. We took Spike home and she became a part of our family. Spike's personality is so much different than Toothless. Spike is not a cuddle bug. She is rather hyper and will run and jump when she is out as if she thinks she is super girl. She will actually play like a cat with a laser light or cat toys. We had used this site for tips on raising them, such as proper lighting and diet, but I never had a question so I didn't join. Here is where the story gets interesting. Spike layed eggs back in September. We knew that females can sometimes lay infertile eggs so we were going to dispose of them. That is when my teenage son spoke up and said that he had put them together a few weeks prior, just to see what they would do. (As if it wasn't obvious). Although we had not planned on breeding I did go out and purchase an incubator. We ended up with 16 eggs in the first 2 clutches. She had a third clutch but I ended up freezing those eggs. I struggled with myself, but I really did not want to get in over my head and w